Faculty Affiliates

Interdisciplinary perspectives on race, equity, and education enrich the Center’s research projects and activities. Professors from various departments in the School of Arts and Sciences, the School of Social Policy and Practice, and the School of Nursing join Penn GSE faculty as affiliates of the Center. A sizeable fraction of each scholar’s research portfolio includes projects situated in P-12 schools, colleges and universities, or social contexts that influence educational opportunity and outcomes. These Penn professors understand that myriad social, cultural, and political forces contribute to inequities at all levels of education, and that cross-disciplinary research approaches are likely to yield more sophisticated implications for social policy and practice.

Regina Austin, J.D. [bio]

William A. Schnader Professor of Law
Director, Penn Program on Documentaries and the Law
Penn Law School
raustin@law.upenn.edu

H. Gerald Campano, Ph.D. [bio]

Associate Professor, Language and Literacy in Education Division
Graduate School of Education
campano@gse.upenn.edu

Camille Z. Charles, Ph.D. [bio]

Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn 
Term Professor in the Social Sciences
Professor of Sociology
Director, Center for Africana Studies
School of Arts and Sciences
ccharles@pop.upenn.edu

Ezekiel Dixon-Román, Ph.D. [bio]

Assistant Professor
School of Social Policy and Practice
ezekield@sp2.upenn.edu

Ezekiel J. Emanuel, M.D., Ph.D. [bio]

Vice Provost for Global Initiatives
Chair, Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy
Diane V.S. Levy & Robert M. Levy University Professor

Perelman School of Medicine and The Wharton School

zemanuel@upenn.edu

David L. Eng, Ph.D. [bio]

Professor of English and Asian American Studies
School of Arts and Sciences
deng@english.upenn.edu

Nelson Flores, Ph.D. [bio]

Assistant Professor, Educational Linguistics Division
Graduate School of Education
nflores@gse.upenn.edu

Vivian L. Gadsden, Ed.D. [bio]

William T. Carter Professor of Child Development and Education
Director, National Center on Fathers and Families
Associate Director, National Center on Adult Literacy
Graduate School of Education
viviang@gse.upenn.edu

Ryan Hynd, Ph.D. [bio]

Assistant Professor
Mathematics Department, School of Arts and Sciences
rhynd@math.upenn.edu

John L. Jackson Jr., Ph.D. [bio]

Dean, School of Social Policy
Richard Perry University Professor and Penn Integrates Knowledge Professor
jackson5@asc.upenn.edu

Grace Kao, Ph.D. [bio]

Professor of Sociology and Asian American Studies
School of Arts and Sciences
grace2@pop.upenn.edu

Annette Lareau, Ph.D. [bio]

Stanley I. Sheerr Professor in the Social Sciences
Professor of Sociology
School of Arts and Sciences
alareau@sas.upenn.edu

Lisa M. Lewis, Ph.D. [bio]

Associate Professor
School of Nursing, Center for Health Equity Research
lisaml@nursing.upenn.edu

Terri H. Lipman, Ph.D. [bio]

Miriam Stirl Endowed Term Professor of Nutrition
Professor of Nursing of Children
School of Nursing
lipman@nursing.upenn.edu

Wendell Pritchett, J.D., Ph.D. [bio]

Presidential Professor
Penn Law School
pritchet@law.upenn.edu

Rand Quinn, Ph.D. [bio]

Assistant Professor, Teaching, Learning, and Leadership Division
Graduate School of Education
raq@gse.upenn.edu

Americus Reed II, Ph.D. [bio]

Whitney M. Young Jr. Professor of Marketing
The Wharton School
amreed@wharton.upenn.edu

Kenneth L. Shropshire, J.D. [bio]

David W. Hauck Professor of Legal Studies and Business Ethics
The Wharton School
shrop@wharton.upenn.edu

Rogers M. Smith, Ph.D. [bio]

Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Political Science
School of Arts and Sciences
rogerss@sas.upenn.edu

Howard C. Stevenson, Ph.D. [bio]

Constance E. Clayton Professor of Urban Education
Graduate School of Education
howards@gse.upenn.edu

Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, Ph.D. [bio]

Assistant Professor, Reading, Writing, and Literacy Division
Graduate School of Education
ebonyt@gse.upenn.edu

Tukufu Zuberi, Ph.D. [bio]

Lasry Family Professor of Race Relations
Chair, Sociology Department
School of Arts and Sciences
tukufu@ssc.upenn.edu

 

Honorary Faculty Affiliate

Gloria Ladson-Billings, Ph.D. [bio]

Kellner Family Professor of Urban Education
University of Wisconsin-Madison
gjladson@wisc.edu