Faculty News

News relevant to faculty

John Fantuzzo's data system provides model for cities studying students

November 18, 2014 — Dr. John Fantuzzo pioneered using Big Data to identify situations that put children at risk, followed by leveraging that data to search for solutions.

With research partner Dennis P. Culhane, Fantuzzo, Director of Penn GSE’s Child Research Center, developed the Kids Integrated Data System, which mines government databases for clues to help build resiliency in at-risk students.

Professor Emerita Susan Lytle to Receive Distinguished Scholar Lifetime Achievement Award

October 13, 2014 — In December Penn GSE Professor Emerita Susan Lytle will receive the Literary Research Association’s 2014 Distinguished Scholar Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award recognizes Lytle’s decades of pioneering work in literacy, teaching and teacher learning and the influence she has had on the LRA membership.

Kuriloff Receives Excellence in Teaching Award

Peter Kuriloff is this year’s recipient of GSE’s Excellence in Teaching Award, given to those who have a strong commitment to teaching and learning, who demonstrate an interest and enthusiasm for both the course material and for the students, and who are intellectually challenging and stimulating.

Hornberger and Kafai Named AERA Fellows for 2010

GSE Professors Nancy Hornberger and Yasmin Kafai has been named AERA Fellows for 2010.

Dr. Hornberger investigates language and education in culturally and linguistically diverse settings, combining methods and perspectives from educational anthropology, linguistic anthropology, and sociolinguistics. She gives special attention to educational policy and practice for indigenous and immigrant language groups, compared across national contexts.

Penny Creedon Wins Penn Models of Excellence Award

LLE Coordinator Penny Creedon has won the 2010 Penn Models of Excellence Award. This university wide award brings great honor to Penny for her outstanding work at GSE.


NASPA Award Goes to Harper

Dr. Shaun Harper will receive the 2010 Outstanding Contribution to Research Award from the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators.

Harper Receives AERA Award

Dr. Shaun Harper has been named the winner of AERA's 2010 AERA Division G Early Career Award. The award will be formally presented at the AERA Annual Meeting in Denver.

Sipe Named 2009 Hollinshead Fellow

Dr. Lawrence Sipe has been named the 2009 Marilyn Hollinshead Fellow by the Kerlan Collection of Children's Literature at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis. The fellowship supports a month of study at the Kerlan Collection, one of the most extensive libraries of children's books and children's book manuscripts in the world.

Syndicate content