Penn GSE Leadership

Our Dean

Pam Grossman joined Penn as the Dean of the Graduate School of Education in January 2015. A distinguished scholar, she came to Penn from Stanford University’s School of Education, where she was the Nomellini-Olivier Professor of Education. At Stanford she founded and led the Center to Support Excellence in Teaching and established the Hollyhock Fellowship for early career teachers in underserved schools. Before joining Stanford, she was the Boeing Professor of Teacher Education at the University of Washington.

Dr. Grossman serves on the boards of some of the nation’s foremost organizations for promoting rigorous educational research and teacher excellence. She was elected to the National Academy of Education in 2009 and currently sits on the Academy’s Board of Directors. She is Vice Chair of the Spencer Foundation Board of Directors and is an incoming member of the Board of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. She also served as Member at Large and Vice President of the Division on Teaching and Teacher Education for the American Educational Research Association. Read more

Board of Overseers

Members of our Board of Overseers provide leadership, direction, and support for the future of Penn GSE.

  • David N. Roberts, W’84, Chair
  • Mark S. Fife, W’78, Vice Chair 
  • Madlyn Kornberg Abramson, ED’57, GED’60
  • Rajeev Amara, W'97
  • Deborah Ancona, C’76, GED’77
  • Paula Argosh, GED’82
  • Joshua M. Berlin, W’95
  • Wallace E. Boston, GRD’10
  • Lee Spelman Doty, W’76
  • Emanuel A. Gonzalez-Revilla, W’88
  • Wendy Marcus Greenfield, W’78
  • Lisa Green Hall, W’87
  • Lois M. Kohn-Claar, C’88, GED’88
  • Douglas R. Korn, W’84
  • Elisabeth A. LeFort, C’76, GED’87
  • Gustave K. Lipman, W’94
  • Jeffrey S. McKibben, W'93
  • Matthew V. O’Malley, GED’95
  • Scott G. Pearl, W’95
  • Andrea J. Pollack, C’83, L’87
  • Jeffrey E. Schwarz, W’80, WG’81
  • Edward M. Yorke, W’81