Faculty Directory

Penn GSE Staff Directory | Penn Directory | Open Faculty Positions

Faculty by Division | Faculty A-Z

Education Policy Division
Name Title Email Phone number
A. Brooks Bowden Assistant Professor bbowden@upenn.edu
John W. Fantuzzo Albert M. Greenfield Emeritus Professor of Human Relations johnf@upenn.edu (215) 898-4790
Leah L. Gillion Postdoctoral Fellow lgillion@upenn.edu (215) 573-5371
Michael A. Gottfried Associate Professor mgottfr2@upenn.edu
Richard M. Ingersoll Professor of Education and Sociology rmi@upenn.edu (215) 573-5674
Stephanie Levin Adjunct Assistant Professor slevin3@gse.upenn.edu (610) 420-9937
Rebecca A. Maynard Professor Emeritus of Education and Social Policy rmaynard@upenn.edu (215) 898-3558
Jonathan A. Supovitz Professor jons@upenn.edu (215) 573-0700 x230
Educational Linguistics Division
Name Title Email Phone number
Catherine DiFelice Box Lecturer cbox@upenn.edu (215) 898-3283
Yuko Goto Butler Professor ybutler@upenn.edu (215) 898-5937
Nelson Flores Associate Professor nflores@upenn.edu (215) 898-7913
Timothy M. Hall Lecturer halltimo@upenn.edu (215) 573-4564
Nancy H. Hornberger Professor Emeritus of Education nancyh@upenn.edu (215) 898-7957
Iryna Kozlova Lecturer ikozlova@upenn.edu (215) 898-5146
Yumi Matsumoto Assistant Professor yumimat@upenn.edu (215) 746-0139
Robert Moore Senior Lecturer moorerob@upenn.edu (215) 898-1920
Anne Pomerantz Professor of Practice apomeran@upenn.edu (215) 573-5710
Betsy R. Rymes Professor brymes@upenn.edu (215) 746-7878
Santoi Wagner Senior Lecturer swagn@upenn.edu (215) 573-7067
Higher Education Division
Name Title Email Phone number
Ross Aikins Adjunct Assistant Professor raikins@upenn.edu (215) 898-8398
Jalil Mustaffa Bishop Vice-Provost Postdoctoral Scholar jbish@gse.upenn.edu
Amalia Z. Dache Assistant Professor adache@upenn.edu (215) 573-3279
Peter Eckel Senior Fellow eckelpd@upenn.edu (215) 573-4342
Diane E. Eynon Senior Fellow eynond@upenn.edu (215) 573-8072
Joni Finney Professor of Practice jonif@upenn.edu (215) 573-4960
Manuel S. González Canché Associate Professor msgc@upenn.edu (215) 898-0332
David Grossman Adjunct Assistant Professor dhg@upenn.edu (215) 898-4831
Matthew Hartley Professor hartley@upenn.edu (215) 898-8414
Eric Kaplan Chief of Staff ejk@upenn.edu (215) 573-9404
Atiya Strothers Love Vice-Provost Postdoctoral Fellow atiyas@upenn.edu
Laura W. Perna Vice Provost for Faculty lperna@upenn.edu (215) 746-2522
Alan R. Ruby Senior Fellow alanruby@upenn.edu (215) 573-9417
Valarie E. Swain-Cade McCoullum Provost’s Distinguished Senior Fellow cade@upenn.edu
Ann E. Tiao Assistant Dean for Student Services atiao@upenn.edu (215) 898-7019
Karen Weaver Adjunct Assistant Professor karw@upenn.edu
Robert M. Zemsky Professor zemskyrm@upenn.edu (610) 455-0144
Human Development and Quantitative Methods Division
Name Title Email Phone number
Nkemka Anyiwo Vice-Provost Postdoctoral Fellow nanyiwo@upenn.edu
Robert F. Boruch University Trustee Chair Professor of Education and Statistics robertb@upenn.edu (215) 898-0409
Wendy Chan Assistant Professor wechan@upenn.edu (215) 573-2038
Xinyin Chen Professor xinyin@upenn.edu (215) 746-2363
Suzanne G. Fegley Senior Lecturer sfegley@upenn.edu (215) 573-9867
Douglas A. Frye Associate Professor dfrye@upenn.edu (215) 898-7375
Diana Slaughter Kotzin Inaugural Constance E. Clayton Professor in Urban Education Emerita dianasd@upenn.edu (215) 582-7036
Linda Lucker Leibowitz Co-Director, Executive Program in School and Mental Health Counseling lleibo@upenn.edu (215) 898-2004
Elizabeth Mackenzie Adjunct Associate Professor emackenz@upenn.edu (215) 898-4176
Paul Austin McDermott Professor paulmcd@upenn.edu (215) 898-7368
Michael J. Nakkula Professor of Practice mnakkula@upenn.edu (215) 898-5195
Katie Pak Postdoctoral Fellow kpak@gse.upenn.edu
Andy Porter Professor Emeritus of Education andyp@upenn.edu (215) 573-9683
Marsha Richardson Senior Lecturer rmarsha@upenn.edu (215) 898-9193
Michael Rovine Senior Fellow mrovine@upenn.edu
Kyle Schultz Lecturer in Educational Practice schkyle@upenn.edu (215) 573-2978
Howard C. Stevenson Constance Clayton Professor of Urban Education howards@upenn.edu (215) 898-5666
Ariane Thomas Lecturer in Educational Practice arianet@upenn.edu (215) 898-1783
Herbert M. Turner Adjunct Associate Professor hmturner@upenn.edu (215) 808-8880
Daniel A. Wagner Professor wagner@literacy.upenn.edu (215) 898-9803
Caroline L. Watts Senior Lecturer wattsca@upenn.edu (215) 746-4584
Sharon Wolf Assistant Professor wolfs@upenn.edu (215) 746-0283
Literacy, Culture, and International Education Division
Name Title Email Phone number
Sigal Ben-Porath Professor of Education sigalbp@upenn.edu (215) 898-3288
H. Gerald Campano Professor campano@upenn.edu (215) 573-9611
Myrna Cohen Adjunct Associate Professor cohenm@upenn.edu (215) 573-9235
Amitanshu Das Senior Fellow and Director dasa@upenn.edu (215) 746-4856
Vivian L. Gadsden William T. Carter Professor of Child Development and Education viviang@upenn.edu (215) 573-3528
Ameena Ghaffar-Kucher Senior Lecturer agk@upenn.edu (215) 898-5004
Joan F. Goodman Professor joang@upenn.edu (215) 898-5677
Kathleen D. Hall Associate Professor of Education and Anthropology kdhall@upenn.edu (215) 573-9612
Jessie Harper Assistant Dean, Faculty Affairs and Diversity jessieh@upenn.edu (215) 573-3725
Susan L. Lytle Professor Emerita lytle@gse.upenn.edu
Michelle Neuman Lecturer mneuma@gse.upenn.edu (215) 573-3947
Alex Posecznick Adjunct Associate Professor alpos@upenn.edu (215) 573-3947
John L. Puckett Professor Emeritus of Education johnp@upenn.edu (215) 898-7389
Elaine Simon Adjunct Associate Professor esimon@sas.upenn.edu (215) 898-1182
Amy Stornaiuolo Associate Professor amystorn@upenn.edu (215) 898-9327
Krystal Strong Assistant Professor kstrong@upenn.edu (215) 746-8415
Amrit Thapa Senior Lecturer athapa@upenn.edu
Ebony Elizabeth Thomas Associate Professor ebonyt@upenn.edu (215) 898-9309
Diane Waff Professor of Practice dwaff@upenn.edu (215) 898-8130
Daniel A. Wagner Professor wagner@literacy.upenn.edu (215) 898-9803
Jessica Whitelaw Adjunct Assistant Professor whitelaw.jessica@gmail.com (215) 898-3245
Jonathan Zimmerman Judy and Howard Berkowitz Professor in Education zimmj@upenn.edu (215) 898-5672
Teaching, Learning, and Leadership Division
Name Title Email Phone number
Veronica E. Aplenc Adjunct Assistant Professor vaplenc@upenn.edu (215) 746-2566
Ryan S. Baker Associate Professor rybaker@upenn.edu (215) 573-2990
Earl Ball Senior Fellow, Adjunct Associate Professor, Penn GSE eball@upenn.edu (215) 573-7499
Ed Brockenbrough Associate Professor and Calvin Bland Fellow edbrocke@upenn.edu (215) 746-6898
Judy L. Brody Lecturer jlbrody@upenn.edu (215) 893-0739
Nicole Mittenfelner Carl Associate Director, Urban Teaching Apprenticeship Program mittenfe@gse.upenn.edu (215) 746-1250
Betty Chandy Director for Online Learning, Catalyst @ Penn GSE chandyb@upenn.edu (215) 898-6694
Erin Cross Adjunct Assistant Professor ecross@upenn.edu (215) 898-5044
Caroline Brayer Ebby Adjunct Associate Professor cbe@upenn.edu
JeanMarie Farrow Postdoctoral Fellow jfarrow@upenn.edu (215) 898-0597
Alesha Gayle Senior Fellow aleshad@upenn.edu (215) 898-2578
Eva Gold Adjunct Professor evagold47@gmail.com (215) 387-2721
L. Michael Golden Executive Director, Catalyst @ Penn GSE lmgolden@upenn.edu (215) 746-6063
Pam Grossman Dean, Graduate School of Education grossman@upenn.edu (215) 898-7014
Zachary Herrmann Adjunct Assistant Professor zsh123@upenn.edu (215) 573-6751
Charlotte E. Jacobs Adjunct Assistant Professor chjacobs@upenn.edu (215) 573-0653
Michael C. Johanek Senior Fellow johanek@upenn.edu (215) 573-0589
Yasmin B. Kafai Lori and Michael Milken President’s Distinguished Professor kafai@upenn.edu (215) 746-3468
Sarah Schneider Kavanagh Assistant Professor sarahkav@upenn.edu (215) 573-9683
Kate Kinney Grossman Director, Urban Teaching Apprenticeship Program kinneym@upenn.edu (215) 898-5186
Peter J. Kuriloff Professor kuriloff@upenn.edu (215) 898-5238
James H. Lytle Adjunct Professor jhlytle@upenn.edu (215) 573-3549
Jasmine Marshall-Butler Associate Director, Coordinator of Fieldwork and Coaching, Urban Teaching Apprenticeship Program jmbutler@upenn.edu
Annie McKee Senior Fellow mckee@upenn.edu (215) 746-1451
Leslie K. Nabors Olah Adjunct Associate Professor leslieno@upenn.edu
Lori Ann Noll Associate Director, Urban Teaching Residency lorinoll@upenn.edu (215) 898-2360
Steve Piltch Senior Fellow & Director, School Leadership Program spiltch@upenn.edu (215) 573-3320
Christopher Pupik Dean Senior Fellow cpu@gse.upenn.edu (215) 898-9350
Rand Quinn Associate Professor raq@upenn.edu (215) 898-9330
Sharon M. Ravitch Professor of Practice ravitch@upenn.edu (215) 898-5003
Abby Reisman Assistant Professor areisman@upenn.edu (215) 573-6012
Janine Remillard Professor janiner@upenn.edu (215) 898-7377
Jessica Richard Associate Director, School Leadership Program richarj@upenn.edu
Sonia M. Rosen Lecturer soniar@upenn.edu (215) 746-4324
Davinah Sharnese Smith Postdoctoral Fellow davinahs@upenn.edu (215) 898-7381
Harris Sokoloff Adjunct Associate Professor harriss@upenn.edu (215) 898-7371
Jonathan A. Supovitz Professor jons@upenn.edu (215) 573-0700 x230
Elliot Weinbaum Adjunct Assistant Professor elliotw@upenn.edu (215) 573-0700 x247
Kandi J. Wiens Senior Fellow kwiens@upenn.edu (407) 738-0208
Susan A. Yoon Professor yoonsa@upenn.edu (215) 746-2526
Jenny Zapf Director, Education Entrepreneurship Program jzapf@upenn.edu (215) 898-3265
Nick van Dam Adjunct Associate Professor n.vdam@nyenrode.nl
Name Title Email Phone number
Ross Aikins Adjunct Assistant Professor raikins@upenn.edu (215) 898-8398
Nkemka Anyiwo Vice-Provost Postdoctoral Fellow nanyiwo@upenn.edu
Veronica E. Aplenc Adjunct Assistant Professor vaplenc@upenn.edu (215) 746-2566
Ryan S. Baker Associate Professor rybaker@upenn.edu (215) 573-2990
Earl Ball Senior Fellow, Adjunct Associate Professor, Penn GSE eball@upenn.edu (215) 573-7499
Sigal Ben-Porath Professor of Education sigalbp@upenn.edu (215) 898-3288
Jalil Mustaffa Bishop Vice-Provost Postdoctoral Scholar jbish@gse.upenn.edu
Robert F. Boruch University Trustee Chair Professor of Education and Statistics robertb@upenn.edu (215) 898-0409
A. Brooks Bowden Assistant Professor bbowden@upenn.edu
Catherine DiFelice Box Lecturer cbox@upenn.edu (215) 898-3283
Ed Brockenbrough Associate Professor and Calvin Bland Fellow edbrocke@upenn.edu (215) 746-6898
Judy L. Brody Lecturer jlbrody@upenn.edu (215) 893-0739
Yuko Goto Butler Professor ybutler@upenn.edu (215) 898-5937
H. Gerald Campano Professor campano@upenn.edu (215) 573-9611
Nicole Mittenfelner Carl Associate Director, Urban Teaching Apprenticeship Program mittenfe@gse.upenn.edu (215) 746-1250
Wendy Chan Assistant Professor wechan@upenn.edu (215) 573-2038
Betty Chandy Director for Online Learning, Catalyst @ Penn GSE chandyb@upenn.edu (215) 898-6694
Xinyin Chen Professor xinyin@upenn.edu (215) 746-2363
Myrna Cohen Adjunct Associate Professor cohenm@upenn.edu (215) 573-9235
Erin Cross Adjunct Assistant Professor ecross@upenn.edu (215) 898-5044
Amalia Z. Dache Assistant Professor adache@upenn.edu (215) 573-3279
Amitanshu Das Senior Fellow and Director dasa@upenn.edu (215) 746-4856
Caroline Brayer Ebby Adjunct Associate Professor cbe@upenn.edu
Peter Eckel Senior Fellow eckelpd@upenn.edu (215) 573-4342
Diane E. Eynon Senior Fellow eynond@upenn.edu (215) 573-8072
John W. Fantuzzo Albert M. Greenfield Emeritus Professor of Human Relations johnf@upenn.edu (215) 898-4790
JeanMarie Farrow Postdoctoral Fellow jfarrow@upenn.edu (215) 898-0597
Suzanne G. Fegley Senior Lecturer sfegley@upenn.edu (215) 573-9867
Joni Finney Professor of Practice jonif@upenn.edu (215) 573-4960
Nelson Flores Associate Professor nflores@upenn.edu (215) 898-7913
Douglas A. Frye Associate Professor dfrye@upenn.edu (215) 898-7375
Vivian L. Gadsden William T. Carter Professor of Child Development and Education viviang@upenn.edu (215) 573-3528
Alesha Gayle Senior Fellow aleshad@upenn.edu (215) 898-2578
Ameena Ghaffar-Kucher Senior Lecturer agk@upenn.edu (215) 898-5004
Leah L. Gillion Postdoctoral Fellow lgillion@upenn.edu (215) 573-5371
Eva Gold Adjunct Professor evagold47@gmail.com (215) 387-2721
L. Michael Golden Executive Director, Catalyst @ Penn GSE lmgolden@upenn.edu (215) 746-6063
Manuel S. González Canché Associate Professor msgc@upenn.edu (215) 898-0332
Joan F. Goodman Professor joang@upenn.edu (215) 898-5677
Michael A. Gottfried Associate Professor mgottfr2@upenn.edu
David Grossman Adjunct Assistant Professor dhg@upenn.edu (215) 898-4831
Pam Grossman Dean, Graduate School of Education grossman@upenn.edu (215) 898-7014
Kathleen D. Hall Associate Professor of Education and Anthropology kdhall@upenn.edu (215) 573-9612
Timothy M. Hall Lecturer halltimo@upenn.edu (215) 573-4564
Jessie Harper Assistant Dean, Faculty Affairs and Diversity jessieh@upenn.edu (215) 573-3725
Matthew Hartley Professor hartley@upenn.edu (215) 898-8414
Zachary Herrmann Adjunct Assistant Professor zsh123@upenn.edu (215) 573-6751
Nancy H. Hornberger Professor Emeritus of Education nancyh@upenn.edu (215) 898-7957
Richard M. Ingersoll Professor of Education and Sociology rmi@upenn.edu (215) 573-5674
Charlotte E. Jacobs Adjunct Assistant Professor chjacobs@upenn.edu (215) 573-0653
Michael C. Johanek Senior Fellow johanek@upenn.edu (215) 573-0589
Yasmin B. Kafai Lori and Michael Milken President’s Distinguished Professor kafai@upenn.edu (215) 746-3468
Eric Kaplan Chief of Staff ejk@upenn.edu (215) 573-9404
Sarah Schneider Kavanagh Assistant Professor sarahkav@upenn.edu (215) 573-9683
Kate Kinney Grossman Director, Urban Teaching Apprenticeship Program kinneym@upenn.edu (215) 898-5186
Diana Slaughter Kotzin Inaugural Constance E. Clayton Professor in Urban Education Emerita dianasd@upenn.edu (215) 582-7036
Iryna Kozlova Lecturer ikozlova@upenn.edu (215) 898-5146
Peter J. Kuriloff Professor kuriloff@upenn.edu (215) 898-5238
Linda Lucker Leibowitz Co-Director, Executive Program in School and Mental Health Counseling lleibo@upenn.edu (215) 898-2004
Stephanie Levin Adjunct Assistant Professor slevin3@gse.upenn.edu (610) 420-9937
Atiya Strothers Love Vice-Provost Postdoctoral Fellow atiyas@upenn.edu
Susan L. Lytle Professor Emerita lytle@gse.upenn.edu
James H. Lytle Adjunct Professor jhlytle@upenn.edu (215) 573-3549
Elizabeth Mackenzie Adjunct Associate Professor emackenz@upenn.edu (215) 898-4176
Jasmine Marshall-Butler Associate Director, Coordinator of Fieldwork and Coaching, Urban Teaching Apprenticeship Program jmbutler@upenn.edu
Yumi Matsumoto Assistant Professor yumimat@upenn.edu (215) 746-0139
Rebecca A. Maynard Professor Emeritus of Education and Social Policy rmaynard@upenn.edu (215) 898-3558
Paul Austin McDermott Professor paulmcd@upenn.edu (215) 898-7368
Annie McKee Senior Fellow mckee@upenn.edu (215) 746-1451
Robert Moore Senior Lecturer moorerob@upenn.edu (215) 898-1920
Leslie K. Nabors Olah Adjunct Associate Professor leslieno@upenn.edu
Michael J. Nakkula Professor of Practice mnakkula@upenn.edu (215) 898-5195
Michelle Neuman Lecturer mneuma@gse.upenn.edu (215) 573-3947
Lori Ann Noll Associate Director, Urban Teaching Residency lorinoll@upenn.edu (215) 898-2360
Katie Pak Postdoctoral Fellow kpak@gse.upenn.edu
Laura W. Perna Vice Provost for Faculty lperna@upenn.edu (215) 746-2522
Steve Piltch Senior Fellow & Director, School Leadership Program spiltch@upenn.edu (215) 573-3320
Anne Pomerantz Professor of Practice apomeran@upenn.edu (215) 573-5710
Andy Porter Professor Emeritus of Education andyp@upenn.edu (215) 573-9683
Alex Posecznick Adjunct Associate Professor alpos@upenn.edu (215) 573-3947
John L. Puckett Professor Emeritus of Education johnp@upenn.edu (215) 898-7389
Christopher Pupik Dean Senior Fellow cpu@gse.upenn.edu (215) 898-9350
Rand Quinn Associate Professor raq@upenn.edu (215) 898-9330
Sharon M. Ravitch Professor of Practice ravitch@upenn.edu (215) 898-5003
Abby Reisman Assistant Professor areisman@upenn.edu (215) 573-6012
Janine Remillard Professor janiner@upenn.edu (215) 898-7377
Jessica Richard Associate Director, School Leadership Program richarj@upenn.edu
Marsha Richardson Senior Lecturer rmarsha@upenn.edu (215) 898-9193
Sonia M. Rosen Lecturer soniar@upenn.edu (215) 746-4324
Michael Rovine Senior Fellow mrovine@upenn.edu
Alan R. Ruby Senior Fellow alanruby@upenn.edu (215) 573-9417
Betsy R. Rymes Professor brymes@upenn.edu (215) 746-7878
Kyle Schultz Lecturer in Educational Practice schkyle@upenn.edu (215) 573-2978
Elaine Simon Adjunct Associate Professor esimon@sas.upenn.edu (215) 898-1182
Davinah Sharnese Smith Postdoctoral Fellow davinahs@upenn.edu (215) 898-7381
Harris Sokoloff Adjunct Associate Professor harriss@upenn.edu (215) 898-7371
Howard C. Stevenson Constance Clayton Professor of Urban Education howards@upenn.edu (215) 898-5666
Amy Stornaiuolo Associate Professor amystorn@upenn.edu (215) 898-9327
Krystal Strong Assistant Professor kstrong@upenn.edu (215) 746-8415
Jonathan A. Supovitz Professor jons@upenn.edu (215) 573-0700 x230
Valarie E. Swain-Cade McCoullum Provost’s Distinguished Senior Fellow cade@upenn.edu
Amrit Thapa Senior Lecturer athapa@upenn.edu
Ariane Thomas Lecturer in Educational Practice arianet@upenn.edu (215) 898-1783
Ebony Elizabeth Thomas Associate Professor ebonyt@upenn.edu (215) 898-9309
Ann E. Tiao Assistant Dean for Student Services atiao@upenn.edu (215) 898-7019
Herbert M. Turner Adjunct Associate Professor hmturner@upenn.edu (215) 808-8880
Nick van Dam Adjunct Associate Professor n.vdam@nyenrode.nl
Diane Waff Professor of Practice dwaff@upenn.edu (215) 898-8130
Santoi Wagner Senior Lecturer swagn@upenn.edu (215) 573-7067
Daniel A. Wagner Professor wagner@literacy.upenn.edu (215) 898-9803
Caroline L. Watts Senior Lecturer wattsca@upenn.edu (215) 746-4584
Karen Weaver Adjunct Assistant Professor karw@upenn.edu
Elliot Weinbaum Adjunct Assistant Professor elliotw@upenn.edu (215) 573-0700 x247
Jessica Whitelaw Adjunct Assistant Professor whitelaw.jessica@gmail.com (215) 898-3245
Kandi J. Wiens Senior Fellow kwiens@upenn.edu (407) 738-0208
Sharon Wolf Assistant Professor wolfs@upenn.edu (215) 746-0283
Susan A. Yoon Professor yoonsa@upenn.edu (215) 746-2526
Jenny Zapf Director, Education Entrepreneurship Program jzapf@upenn.edu (215) 898-3265
Robert M. Zemsky Professor zemskyrm@upenn.edu (610) 455-0144
Jonathan Zimmerman Judy and Howard Berkowitz Professor in Education zimmj@upenn.edu (215) 898-5672