Our Dean

Dean Pam Grossman on Locust WalkPam Grossman joined the University of Pennsylvania as the Dean of the Graduate School of Education in January 2015. A distinguished scholar, she came to Penn from Stanford University’s School of Education, where she was the Nomellini-Olivier Professor of Education. At Stanford she founded and led the Center to Support Excellence in Teaching and established the Hollyhock Fellowship for early career teachers in underserved schools. Before joining Stanford, she was the Boeing Professor of Teacher Education at the University of Washington.

Dr. Grossman serves on the boards of some of the nation’s foremost organizations for promoting rigorous educational research and teacher excellence. She was elected to the National Academy of Education in 2009 and currently sits on the Academy’s Board of Directors. She is Vice Chair of the Spencer Foundation Board of Directors and is an incoming member of the Board of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. She also served as Member at Large and Vice President of the Division on Teaching and Teacher Education for the American Educational Research Association.

Visit Dean Grossman's bio page.

Board of Advisors

Members of our Board of Advisors provide leadership, direction, and support for the future of Penn GSE.

  • Douglas R. Korn, W'84, Chair 
  • Deborah Ancona, C'76, GED'77 
  • Olumoroti G. Balogun, GRD’20
  • Brett H. Barth, W'93 
  • Allison J. Blitzer, C'91
  • Wallace E. Boston, GRD'10 
  • Harlan B. Cherniak, W'01
  • Jolley Bruce Christman, GED'71, GR'87 
  • Beth S. Ertel, W'88, WG'92
  • Marjie Gittis Katz, GED'90 
  • Jeffrey L. Goldberg, W'83, WG'89
  • Patricia Grant, GED'01 GRD'04
  • Joel M. Greenblatt, W'79, WG'80  
  • Andrew H. Jacobson, WG'93
  • Lois M. Kohn-Claar, C'88, GED'88
  • Gustave K. Lipman, W'94 
  • Jeffrey S. McKibben, W'93 
  • Gregory A. Milken, C'95 
  • Andrea J. Pollack, C'83, L'87 
  • David N. Roberts, W'84
  • Francisco J. Rodriguez, W'93
  • Molly P. Rouse-Terlevich, C'90 GED'00
  • Michael J. Sorrell, GRD'16
  • Navin M. Valrani, W'93, GED'18
  • Steven M. Wagshal, W'94

Senior Leadership

  • Melissa Calvert, Vice Dean for Development and Alumni Relations
  • Kim Eke, Senior IT Director
  • Michael Golden, Executive Director, Catalyst
  • Emma Grigore, Chief People Officer
  • Pam Grossman, Dean, and George and Diane Weiss Professor
  • Jessie Harper, Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs and Diversity
  • Matt Hartley, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, and Professor
  • Zachary Hermann, Executive Director, Center for Professional Learning
  • Eric Kaplan, Chief of Staff
  • Leslie Levin, Assistant Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid
  • Jason Presley, Vice Dean for Administration and Finance 
  • Kat Stein, Executive Director, Communications
  • Ann Tiao, Assistant Dean for Student Services