Penn GSE celebrates 2020 Service Award winners

May 18, 2020
The front entrance to the Penn GSE building.

Never in Penn GSE’s century-plus history has there been a semester like Spring 2020. 

As we celebrate the Class of 2020, Penn GSE recognizes the students, faculty, and staff members whose extraordinary service to the school and each other allowed us all to succeed.

Nimet Eren, who graduates with an Ed.D.Teaching, Learning, and Leadership, received the William E. Arnold Award for Outstanding Contributions by a Student. The Arnold Award reflects Penn GSE’s commitment to preparing outstanding educators and academic leaders.  

Recognition of Service Awards


Student recipients 

Rhina Duquela, Higher Education

Nora Gross, Literacy, Culture, & International Education

Xuan Guan, Educational Linguistics

Taylor Hausburg, Teaching, Learning & Leadership

Scott Kominkiewicz, Human Development & Quantitative Methods


Staff recipients

Tamika Easley, Literacy, Culture, & International Education

Krista Featherstone, Education Policy

Sara Goldstein, Teaching, Learning & Leadership

Sarah Peyton Kaufman, Educational Linguistics

Ayoung Lee, Executive Format

Maryetta Rowan, Human Development & Quantitative Methods

Penn GSE IT Department 


Faculty recipients

Brooks Bowden, Education Policy

Catherine Box, Educational Linguistics

Gerald Campano, Executive Format

Kathleen Hall, Literacy, Culture, & International Education

Michael Nakkula, Human Development & Quantitative Methods

Mark Pellico, Teaching, Learning & Leadership

Laura Perna, Higher Education