Education Alumni Award Honorees

Penn GSE Educator of the Year Award

This award recognizes an outstanding graduate or friend of the University of Pennsylvania, preferably of the Graduate School of Education, who demonstrates unusual involvement in and commitment to identifying and helping to resolve school problems and current issues in education. The recipient of this award must be a dedicated educator who is an inspiration, risk-taker, innovator, and role model and who demonstrates a commitment to the betterment of Penn GSE.

>> Submit a Nomination

  • 2022, Dr. Ufuoma C. Abiola, GED’12, GRD’17
  • 2021, Annette Anderson, GED’97 GR’06
  • 2020, James B. Johnston, WG’66, GRD’76
  • 2018, Christian T. Edge, G’12, GED’13
  • 2017, Noah Tennant, GRD’06
  • 2016, Gregory J. Vincent, GRD’04
  • 2015, Erlinda B. Juliano, GED’93
  • 2013, Janine D. Remillard
  • 2012, Irving P. McPhail, GRD’76
  • 2011, Dina H. Portnoy, CW’69, GRD’98
  • 2010, NancyLee R. Bergey, CW’75, GED’79, GRD’16
  • 2009, Marsha Evans, GED’90
  • 2007, Kenneth E. Hartman, GR’69
  • 2005, Leslie J. Nicholas, GED’85
  • 2004, Elaine Atkins, GED’76, GR’82
  • 2003, Martin Galvin, GED’98
  • 2002, Leslie C. Rogers, C’98, GED’99, GRD’12
  • 1998, Stephanie T. Childs, GR’91
  • 1997, Sandra M. Griffin, GRD’90
  • 1994, James J. Gallagher, GED’71
  • 1993, Diane Scott, GED’89