Celebrating honors and awards with Penn GSE faculty

March 21, 2019

There’s much to celebrate this spring at Penn GSE. A number of esteemed faculty members have accepted honors, ranging from fellowships and researcher awards to appointments, that recognize thought leadership and scholarship in the field of education. Join us in recognizing Penn GSE’s most recent awardees:

Susan A. Yoon has been inducted as a 2019 Fellow of the International Society of the Learning Sciences. The ISLS Fellows program recognizes highly accomplished scholars who have made major contributions to the field of the Learning Sciences.

Sharon Wolf has received the inaugural Outstanding Early Career Investigator Award from the Society for Research on Educational Effectiveness. The award recognizes an early career scholar whose work has advanced rigorous research relevant to educational practice. 

Wendy Chan has been named a recipient of the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management's 40 for 40 Fellowship. The fellowship program provides funding for 40 outstanding early career professionals and supports scholars in growing their professional networks and sharing their research with the broader policy audience. 

Gerald CampanoEbony Elizabeth Thomas, and Amy Stornaiuolo were selected as editors of Research in the Teaching of English (RTE), one of the preeminent journals in the study of literacy published by the National Council of Teachers of English.

Nancy H. Hornberger has been recognized with the 2019 Charles A. Ferguson Award for Outstanding Scholarship from the Center for Applied Linguistics on the occasion of its 60th anniversary. The award honors visionaries in applied linguistics for outstanding scholarship, superior leadership skills, and the ability to foster collaborations among a wide range of people to enrich the world around them. 

John Fantuzzo and Laura Perna have been elected to join the National Academy of Education, an organization dedicated to advancing high quality education research and its use in policy and practice. The pair join Penn GSE Dean Pam Grossman, Professor Vivian Gadsden, former Dean Andy Porter, Professor Emerita Diana Slaughter-Kotzin, and Penn President Amy Gutmann, a secondary faculty member of Penn GSE, in the Academy. NAEd members are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education.

Thanks to all staff and faculty members who notified us of these awards. If we have missed any awards, please use this form to notify us of a new or missed award, and we will be happy to add it to this page.

You May Be Interested In