Penn GSE awards recognize Rand Quinn, Terence Newby, and Hannah Brenneman

May 15, 2015

With its annual awards, Penn GSE is recognizing Rand Quinn, Terence Newby, and Hannah Brenneman for their excellent work.

Quinn, professor of Education Policy in the Teaching, Learning, and Leadership Division, received the “Excellence in Teaching Award.” Since joining Penn GSE in 2012, Quinn has earned a reputation for challenging students to think in new ways. He has involved many students in his research and work in Philadelphia.

Newby, the facilities manager for 3700 Walnut, received the “Outstanding Service to Students Award.” Newby is known as the man to see if you need to get something done. His hard work frees faculty and staff to arrive every day ready to focus on education. If you can’t find Newby, just stand in the same place. He will surely come by on his rounds, and be able to help.

Hannah Brenneman, who is graduating with an M.S.Ed. in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages received the “William E. Arnold Award for Outstanding Contributions by a Student.” Brenneman also received the TESOL Spirit Award.”

Brenneman worked as an intermediate-level group facilitator for PEDAL@GSE and as a high-intermediate/advanced Co-Lead Facilitator for Community PEDAL@GSE. She spent the summer of 2014 studying and working in St. Petersburg, Russia, where she taught ESL to students of different ages and levels. She also served as a summer intern for the St. Petersburg International Business Association (SPIBA), where she led a weekly Business English Conversation Club for adult ESL students.

The following students have also been honored:

The President's and Provost's Citation for Exceptional Commitment to Graduate Student Life at the University of Pennsylvania:  Cheyenne Alexis Anthony

The Andy Binns Impact Award for Outstanding Service to Graduate and Professional Student Life:  Desmond Martin Diggs

Dell H. Hymes–Nessa Wolfson Award for Excellence in Educational Linguistics: Nicholas Limerick

Educational Linguistics Faculty Award for Leadership in Educational Linguistics: Jacqueline Yang

Teresa Pica Award for Excellence in TESOL: Mingyue Wang

Annual Award for Excellence in Intercultural Communication: Mengya Qiu

Ralph C. Preston Award: Lan Ngo

Morton Botel Award: David Low

The Reading/Writing/Literacy Faculty Award: Debora Broderick

PhilWP Award: Lan Ngo

GSE Student Government Award for Contributions to Student Life: Alyson Ragone

GSE Student Government Student Advocacy Award: Vincent Morton, Jr.

GSE Student Government Morale Award: Kelsey Marie Jones

GSE Student Government–Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Citation for Excellence in Leadership and Innovation: Gernissia Cherfrere


You May Be Interested In