2023–2024 awards and honors recognize Penn GSE faculty and students

May 14, 2024
Corner facade of the Penn GSE Building

As the 2023–2024 academic year comes to a close, Penn GSE proudly recognizes the remarkable contributions of its faculty and students, who continue to push the boundaries of educational innovation and community engagement. These prestigious awards highlight achievements across research, community service, teaching, and beyond, showcasing the vibrant and diverse talents within the Penn GSE community.

Faculty Awards and Honors

Gerald Campano was honored with the Steve Witte Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Educational Research Association (AERA). The award recognizes a senior scholar who has made significant contributions to research in the area of writing and literacies through a particular academic work or body of work.

Linda M. Pheng won the 2023 American Educational Studies Association’s Taylor & Francis Educational Studies Award for the Best Paper of the Year for her paper “What Is Social Justice Research for Asian Americans? Critical Reflections on Cross-Racial and Cross-Ethnic Coalition Building in Community-Based Educational Spaces.”

Howard C. Stevenson was invited to give the Walter N. Ridley Distinguished Annual Lecture at the University of Virginia, held in March. The lecture is named for the first African American to receive a doctoral degree from a Southern white college or university.

Dean Katharine Strunk was named to Philadelphia Mayor Cherelle Parker’s transition team subcommittee for education. The dean was also asked to co-chair the Presidential Commission on Countering Hate and Building Community with Vijay Kumar, dean of Penn Engineering.

Susan Yoon was named a 2024 American Educational Research Association Fellow, a program that honors education researchers with substantial research accomplishments.

2024 Penn GSE Annual Award Recipients

The William E. Arnold Award for Outstanding Contributions by a Student

The Arnold Award reflects our commitment to preparing outstanding educators and academic leaders.

Awardee: Laronnda Thompson

The Penn GSE Recognition of Service Award

This award recognizes staff who have shown extraordinary work above and beyond their job description to assist students, other staff, or faculty.


  • Staff: Leland McGee, Hannah Brenneman, and Roshonda Scipio
  • Faculty: Damani White-Lewis, Caroline Hill, and Rowan Machalow

The Penn GSE Excellence in Teaching Award

This award honors educators who excel in innovative teaching and deeply engage with student achievement.

Awardee: Julie E. Wollman

The GSE Student Award for Excellence in Promoting Diversity & Inclusion

This award honors students who embody and strive to promote one of our core values — an inclusive community.

Awardee: Adina Goldstein

The Laurie Wagman Award for Visual and Performing Arts in Education

This award recognizes a Penn GSE scholar who demonstrates an innovative and creative education vision and intends to share that vision with their peers and/or students whether through academic research, writing, and/or classroom activities.

Awardee: Meruyert Bizhanova